Tags

, , , ,

Yes, I am going to dedicate an entire post to butter.

After slaving over html coding all day, I think such a celebration is in order.  (Don’t ask me to define html coding, because I would not be able to.)

The featured butter of the evening came from Trickling Springs Creamery in Chambersburg, PA.  I swirled a few tablespoons into a cup of cooked polenta.  Simple, peasant fair; but so satisfying.  Warm, comforting.  Crading my bowl in one hand, and wielding my spoon in the other, I took a giantic sigh and the day melted away.

Polenta’s natural nuttiness divinely pairs with the smoothness of fresh butter.  I’ve tried adding using olive oil in previous batches of polenta; flavors from the two ingredients do not balance each other well on the palate.

Wait!  parmeggianoThis doesn’t mean I do not appreciate olive oil.  I find that polenta is not the right canvas to showcase this ingredient.  Olive oil lovers, read on.  Your post will come soon.

Is it worth buying locally produced butter when grocery stores provide cheaper varieties?  Tonight made me a believer.  The fresh, creaminess of the butter paired with the slight tang of freshly grated parmeggiano reggiano made for a happy evening.

Html coding, move over.  Make room for butter.

The second, simple application of tonight’s star was a local product trifecta.  Our hero hails from Chambersburg, with impressive supporting roles by Two Gander Farm’s spring wildflower honey (from Fleetwood, Pennsylvania) and spelt bread from Philadelphia’s own Metropolitian Bakery.

Need I say more?  My tastebuds do not.

